five… children’s story books

13 Apr

I LOVE reading, and I know my love of reading has come from the amazing array of children’s books I read whilst growing up.

I started reminiscing about them the other day… there were soooo many good ones, too many to share!

so here’s my top 5

1.  Katie’s Picture Show– oh if only you really did fall into a painting when you touched it! Katie explores the National Gallery in a very hands on way in a book that actually made me like art galleries! I keep meaning to go to the National Gallery and have a go myself…

2. The Rainbow Fish– if I had to pick a favourite of the five this would be it. I played the rainbow fish in a school play in year 2 and I got to wear the most amazing costume with sparkly scales. The story is all about how wonderful it is to share and it can still teach me a thing or two today.

3. We’re Going On A Bear Hunt– we’re going to catch a big one, we’re not scared, what a beautiful day… uh oh… grass, tall swishy grass, we can’t go under it, we can’t go over it, we’ll have to go through it… SWISH SWASH SWISH SWASH. Purely for the fact that I can pretty much remember the whole of this book of by heart!

4. Nothing– just a beautiful story about a lost little teddy bear who just needs a little bit of love. Pretty sure it would make anyone who reads it feel better.

5. The Jolly Postman– this book=genius. Letters you could take out and read, games to play, pop up bits; everything a small child could want. Only problem is I think between my sister and I we lost every single lose bit from the book in about 5 minutes. It’s not so exciting after that.

a big thanks goes to my amazing parents for giving me such wonderful books, I only hope I can do the same one day

x

(p.s. if the covers that I’ve put here don’t match the ones on the links it’s because I’ve chosen to use the covers from when I was a kid)

(p.p.s I think I’m going to have to do a take two of this very soon. Amazon’s ‘recommended for you based on you recent searches’ list is bringing up some corkers I’d forgotten!)

Leave a Reply

