there’s no use crying over spilt frangipane

16 Jul

20120715-212338.jpg

sad face

So yesterday something happened.

At the time it wasn’t funny but in retrospect, and after recovering from the trauma it was pretty darn hilarious!

I decided to bake a frangipane tart, after being inspired by Lover Baker Homemaker and her many wonderful posts. I found a recipe for a raspberry frangipani tart, kind of like a bakewell tart, which looked yummy and as we had friends found for a roast yesterday afternoon I thought it would make the perfect pudding. So I went to tesco’s and bought some ground almonds and eggs. When I got home I made the pastry, pretty straight forward, and had to leave it to chill for 1 hour.

Only once this hour was up did I realise we had no aluminium foil or baking paper for me to blind bake the tart case so I had to make the 10 minute walk there and back to the co-op to buy some. After that slight delay I managed to bake the case and prepare the frangipane filling. All was well. I spread the last of our raspberry jam on the bottom of the baked case and then layered the filling with fresh raspberries before baking for 45 minutes. 2 and a half hours after starting the tart was finished. Yay! Only when I took it out of the oven it didn’t quite go as planned… The loose base of the tart tin came out and the outside rim fell onto my bare arm. As I shouted at the husband ‘its burning meeeeee’ I then panicked and dropped the whole thing from standing height.

It was like a slow camera shot from a disaster movie. We all watched (friends that had come round to eat included) as the tart smooshed in a big pile on the kitchen floor. What did I do? Run out the room into the bedroom, wrap myself in our duvet, refused to let anyone see me and cry like a baby for half an hour (I also sent a frantic text to Sophie, as a fellow baker I knew she’d understand!) Wow. I heard the clean up operation in action, the sound of the Hoover as it sucked up the tart from the floor. What a waste. Of time, of ingredients, of money.

Only all was not lost. I came out of my small break down to find my friends had saved a lot of the tart and to hear that it tasted pretty good. It was on a plate looking all mashed but still usable. We took Sophie’s advise and mashed it up with ice cream to make a Fordham Floor Frangipane Mess. It was gooooood! I’ve even got a bit of it in my lunchbox for work today (minus the ice cream obvs…)!

The recipe can be seen below (I found it in one of those supermarket magazines and can’t find an online version hence taking a photo of it!). For the ultimate Fordham experience make sure you drop it just as it comes out of the oven, then scrap off the floor and eat with ice cream. Or alternatively avoid the clumsiness and have a beautiful looking pudding fit for any dinner party. Either way, it tastes yummy!

x

Leave a Reply

