chewy oat and raisin cookies

16 Sep

oat and raisin cookies

I love love love my new job! It’s mentally and physically exhausting but bringing me so much joy in the process. I’ve made so many wonderful new friends and leaving the house at 7:30am every day isn’t even an issue (I may take that back in a few weeks as it gets colder and colder and darker and darker!). I have bonded with many of the teachers and other staff in the staff room over Great British Bake Off and now everything has settled down a bit after the back-to-school rush I decided to bake something to share with everyone tomorrow to avoid the Monday morning blues.

I wanted something simple and classic so settled on oat and raisin cookies. I love them because I normally HATE raisins but for some reason these biscuits make them totally tolerable… one may say even enjoyable! Plus they travel well and keep well too (although that may not be an issue once they actually reach the staff room!)

This recipe makes around 20-30 cookies (depending on how big you want them to be!) I think I got about 25 out of my batch. It’s astonishingly simple and I would recommend it for a quick baking session or for baking with children.

You will need:

  • 125g unsalted butter, softened
  • 150g light brown muscovado sugar
  • 1 large free-range egg at room temperature
  • 1 tbsp semi-skimmed milk
  • ½ tsp of vanilla extract
  • 100g self-raising flour
  • 75g raisins
  • 150g porridge oats

How you do it:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4.  Grease 3 baking trays. Beat butter and sugar together in a mixing bowl (by hand or electric mixer) until pale and fluffy.
  2. In another bowl beat the egg with the milk and vanilla, then beat into the butter mixture. Add the flour, raisins and oats to the bowl and mix thoroughly with a wooden spoon.
  3. Put heaped teaspoonfuls of the mixture onto the prepared baking trays spacing well apart to allow room for spreading. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the edges are lightly browned (p.s. I needed all three trays and baked each tray separately so as to get an even bake on each batch).
  4. Remove from oven and leave cookies to firm up for a few minutes before moving to a cooling rack to cool completely.
  5. Cookies can be stored in an airtight container for 5 days.

Verdict to be reached tomorrow after given the true staff room test!

x

Leave a Reply

