some recent cross-stitching antics (part 1)

1 Oct

No matter how busy I am I always manage to fit in some cross-stitching- whether that’s on the DLR on my way to work or zoned out in front of the TV after a long day (guilty as charged). It’s something I can do almost without concentrating, sometimes I freak my friends out by cross-stitching during a conversation- I can sew and chat at the same time.

Over the Summer and into this lovely Autumn I have managed to complete a few projects which I really can’t wait to share with you:

1. Herb Pots- from CrossStitcher Magazine (issue 254)

I started this little project way back in the beginning of summer. The minute I saw the idea in CrossStitcher I thought of one of my best friends (ex-housemate and bridesmaid) who loves cooking with fresh herbs and knew I had to make these for her birthday. I followed the magazine instructions to the t (even buying the exact paint they suggested) and have to say I was so pleased with the results! If I’m completely honest I didn’t want to give them away! I reckon the stitching took about 3 weeks on and off (some evenings and afternoons) and the tin painting and everything else was spread over two afternoons. All in all a delightful little project!


2. Bathroom Whale- from CrossStitcher Magazine (issue 255)

This pattern came in a set of three (other two ‘Beside the Sea’ and ‘Wish You Were Here’) but I was immediately drawn to the cute little whale. I changed up the colours so instead of navy thread on white aida I went for a navy aida with a cream thread the same colour as our towels. I wanted something to tie everything in our bathroom together and cross-stitch seems to have a way of doing just that! Sometimes I feel sorry for husband… I think the whole flat may be covered in cross-stitch soon!!! (frame from IKEA)


3. ‘Love’ Cards- own design

I spotted some heart shaped painted wooden buttons on a little card making stall whilst on holiday in Tavistock, Devon, over the summer. I bought them without hesitation knowing I could do something cross-stitchy (I’m making that a word now!) with them. I kept it simple, using thread that matched the colour of the button and stitching onto 14 count cream aida before fraying the edges and using a clear craft glue to attach onto brown card. I made about 6 in one go… hoping they’ll last me a while… I love not having to buy cards!

4. School Diary- from CrossStitcher Magazine (issue 256)

This project came about from my incessant need to actually have a project on the go! I had come to the end of some big projects and wanted to keep my little cross-stitchy hands busy… I had also just been given a lovely red school diary for work. Put two together, mix in a very appropriate set of school related charts from an issue of CrossStitcher and my rather over the top decorated school diary was born. I kind of love it though!!

So that’s 4 of my recent cross stitching shenanigans covered…

Yes there really is a part 2 coming soon… told you I’d been busy!

x

Leave a Reply

